What is a trauma center?
A trauma center is a hospital which meets certain criteria established by the American College of Surgeons.

There are different levels for trauma centers based on the availability of specialists. The biggest difference between a level I and level II trauma center is a research program, surgical residency, and the availability of specialists.

Level I Trauma has a certain number of surgeons and anesthesiologists on staff 24 hours per day / 7 days per week. Level II is similar with less stringent standards and usually work with a Level I for clinical expertise. Level III does not have availability of all specialties and have transfer agreements with Level I and II trauma centers. Currently, UMC is level 1, Sunrise is level II, and St. Rose Siena is level III.

Show All Answers

1. How do I get information about my ambulance bill?
2. What is a nonprovider for my insurance?
3. What or who determines where the ambulance will take the patient?
4. When is a patient transported by air rather than by ground ambulance?
5. What is a trauma center?
6. What does it cost to have EMS come to my house?
7. Can I refuse to be transported by ambulance?
8. Medicare paid my bill, why do I have to pay more?
9. Who do I contact if a personal item is lost during an emergency ambulance transport?
10. Where can I go to get my blood pressure checked?
11. Can I pay my ambulance transport bill online, by phone or credit card?